AWARDS: open for entry!

By Fiona Stephenson

The NZI Sustainable Business Network Awards are New Zealand’s leading sustainability awards. They are a fantastic way to get nationwide recognition of your sustainability achievements. They are free, open to anyone and entries are now open!

The NZI Sustainable Business Network Awards have been running for 17 years. Past winners include corporates, small businesses, not for profits and individuals. They receive nationwide publicity and profile in front of 700 guests at our sell-out Awards night.

Rachel Brown, CEO of the Sustainable Business Network, says: “The need to act on social and environmental issues is now more pressing than ever. The business case is clear, but we need examples of the solutions and stories of success to inspire others. That’s where these Awards come in.

“The Edelman Trust Barometer shows that people increasingly trust their employers, rather than other institutions, to do what is right. So businesses need to step up and prove that change is possible. One of the best ways businesses can get credit and profile for their actions is through success in our Awards.”

Garry Taylor is Executive General Manager of NZI, the Foundation Partner of the Awards.

He says, “NZI has been involved with the SBN for 12 years now and it’s become evident that a growing number of New Zealand businesses are looking at the role they can play in improving their environmental or social performance.

“As an insurer, we see first-hand the devastating impact that a changing climate can have on our customers and our communities. NZI and its parent group IAG continue to champion the awareness of the insurance implications of climate change for New Zealand.

“However, tackling climate change will take a collective effort, that’s why we continue to support the SBN and the incredible work it does to inspire this change.

“We look forward to seeing more of the innovation and passion that goes towards making this change in this year’s applications.”


There are 11 different categories to enter:

The supreme winner, NZI Transforming New Zealand Award, is selected out of the 11 category winners. This coveted award goes to an organisation that is performing outstandingly well across all areas of the business. In 2018, the supreme winner was City Rail Link.

Nick Braxton, Sustainability Advisor at City Rail Link, says: “We’ve worked hard to integrate sustainability into the project and so were thrilled to win the Supreme Award, as well as the Efficiency Champion category. Construction has big environmental and social impacts, so it meant a lot to get public recognition for our efforts. The win has brought us greater profile and I hope will inspire others in our sector and beyond to embrace sustainability.”



The Award judges are all experts in sustainability. They are:

  • Dawn Baggaley – Head of Sustainability, NZ Post
  • Michelle Burdett – Marketing Manager, NZI
  • Bruce Burns – Senior Lecturer in Plant Ecology, The University of Auckland
  • Kath Dewar – Managing Director, GoodSense
  • Jacqueline Farman – Founding Parter, The Purpose Business
  • Marty Forsman – Manager, Environment, Air New Zealand
  • Jennifer McIver – Director, Wishbone Design Studio
  • Rod Oram – business journalist
  • Juhi Shareef – Senior Advisory, Sustainability, Vector
  • Ralph Sims – Professor of Sustainable Energy, Massey University
  • Gary Walker – sustainability coach & mentor
  • Amber Williams – Sustainability Strategist, Energy Efficiency & Conservation Authority
  • Marion Wood – Managing Director, Commonsense Organics



To enter, you need to download an entry form for the relevant category and email it to [email protected] by 14 June. The judges will select finalists, who will be announced towards the end of August. They will be asked to complete a second entry form (‘Stage Two’) by 16 September. The winners will be announced at the Awards night on 28 November. This is a black tie gala dinner on Auckland’s waterfront, attracting NZ’s sustainability ‘who’s who’.

Entries to the 2019 Awards close on 14 June, so if you have sustainability achievements to celebrate enter now!

Find out more about the Awards and download an entry form.

Read our Entry Guide here.