New Zealand’s 2019 sustainability heroes!

By Fiona Stephenson

Last Thursday the biggest night on New Zealand’s sustainability calendar took place, when 700 people gathered at Shed 10 on Auckland’s waterfront to find out who would be crowned the most sustainable of them all.

The NZI Sustainable Business Network Awards recognise the people and businesses leading the change to a more sustainable New Zealand.

MC Jesse Mulligan hosted a black tie gala dinner, with music by Jhasmyne-Leigh and DJs Flat White & Fluffy.

In her opening address, the Governor-General of New Zealand, Her Excellency the Right Honourable Dame Patsy Reddy, said: “My hope is that the NZI Sustainable Business Network Awards will inspire still more New Zealand businesses to become involved. The impact of their work will ripple out into our communities and, ideally, the wider world.”

The essence of the night was captured on film (below) and camera.

It was a night of celebration and networking, but ultimately it belonged to the winners. They came from big and small business, from councils and academia. And they represented fashion, food & beverage, healthcare, construction and hospitality – cutting across many diverse sectors of New Zealand business.

The champions of New Zealand sustainability 2019, who took home the artisan-designed green gongs are …….


Winner = Little Yellow Bird

Finalist = Auckland Council, TROW Group & Green Way (partnership)
Finalist = Tauranga City Council
Finalist = Te Whangai Trust

Communicating for Change

Sponsored by Cadence Communications

Winner = Tauranga City Council
Commendation = BLAKE & New Zealand Geographic
Commendation = Ethique

Sustainability Superstar

Sponsored by Toitū Envirocare

Winner = Andrew Fisher – Managing Director, EcoStock Supplies
Commendation = Janette Searle – Managing Trustee, Take My Hands
Commendation = Marty Taylor – Founder & Chief Sustainability Officer, Papa Taiao Earthcare

Millennial on a Mission

Sponsored by The Spinoff

Winner = Fraser McConnell – Co-Founder, Squawk Squad
Commendation = Grace Glass – Co-founder, Natural Paint Co

Transforming Food

Sponsored by Yealands Family Wines

Winner = Chia Sisters
Commendation = Breadcraft (Wai)

Restoring Nature

Sponsored by Department of Conservation

Winner = Te Whangai Trust
Commendation = AgriSea NZ
Commendation = Rotorua Canopy Tours

Efficiency Champion

Sponsored by Ricoh

Winner = Sudima Hotels
Commendation = Iplex Pipelines NZ
Commendation = National Steel

Going Circular

Sponsored by Auckland Council

Winner = Medsalv
Commendation = Stone Arrow Jewellery
Commendation = The Formary

Smarter Transport

Sponsored by NZ Transport Agency

Winner = Fisher & Paykel Healthcare
Commendation = Blue Cars

Revolutionising Energy

Sponsored by EECA

Winner = AUT University
Commendation = Auckland District Health Board
Commendation = Camp Glenorchy

Hardwired for Social Good

Sponsored by Alsco

Winner = Little Yellow Bird
Commendation = ecostore

Partnering for Good

Sponsored by Ministry for Primary Industries

Winner = Auckland Council, TROW Group and Green Way
Commendation = BNZ and The Salvation Army

Find out more:

Read our media release.

Thank you to all our amazing sponsors!